NaPoWriMo 2015 – The Roundup

Hello everyone! As I promised yesterday, in this post I’ll look back at National Poetry Writing Month 2015.

This was my second NaPoWriMo, but unlike last year (which was haiku-only), this year I took the prompts a little bit more seriously. I say “a little bit” because I once again kept away from too rigid meters. I’ve been struggling with them ever since I first heard about them, and poetry quickly loses its charm when I’m forced to use a dictionary the whole time. I can’t hear stressed syllables, and I fear that will never change.

I don’t remember exactly what kind of haiku I wrote last year, but I know that I have a strong tendency towards disaster, heartbreak, mourning and a general feeling of being lost. I’d say that hasn’t changed much this year (yesterday’s poem was particularly bleak – sorry). On a lighter note, I also wrote a number of geeky/nerdy poems this year, which was particularly fun.

What I particularly enjoyed was trying out new formats and styles, and I guess I’ll revisit a few of them in the future.

Let’s take a look at the statistics of 2015:

Poem with the most “likes”: #5 with seven stars. I have to say, I’m not sure it’s flattering that this has more likes than the poems I created from scratch… Plus I’m not convinced it’s really that good.

Poems with the least “likes”: #16, #21, #24 and #25 with one star each. I especially agree with “Bread and Butter” not being what it could have been.

Poem with the most comments: #23 with four comments. Yes, you can have a small conversation in a comment thread.

Poem with the most views (according to WordPress stats): #1 with 13 views. Although you can’t really trust WordPress statistics if you get likes but no views on some posts…

This of course excludes “He’s Back”, the poem that made me featured participant (thank you again!). It had 336 views and 25 likes, an absolute record for my blog.

My personal favorite this year (apart from “He’s Back”, which was fun to write) was probably #14, the dialogue poem. I love writing dialogues, and I’m really happy that it worked out in this format as well. My least favorite would probably be #10. I felt pressured to do something great as a featured participant and ended up writing something nonsensical that doesn’t really flow.

So what’s next for this blog? I haven’t decided yet, but you’ll definitely see the story on which “The Mountain Creature” is based, and also at least one longer review of a television series (no hints yet). I might also write a few review poems, I really like the format.

Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2015 – The Roundup

  1. Thank you for participating in NaPoWriMo this year! It was really fun to follow your work, and to find a fellow geek-poet. It gets quite desolate in my neck o’ the woods/internet, so it’s nice to know there are indeed other poets out there who dip into their fandoms from time to time ^_^

    • Thank you for reading my poems and for your kind comments.
      I resisted going into poetry for a long time simply because I felt that I couldn’t express myself with it. Once you ditch the “be all serious and mystical” approach, it’s so much more fun. And if I can’t be geeky, where’s the fun in that? 😉

Leave a Reply

