A look back at 2014, a glimpse ahead at 2015

Hello everyone and welcome to the future! We’ve all safely reached 2015 (at least I hope you have) and are ready for the things to come – maybe.

Instead of posting a short story, haiku or review, today I’m taking the time to take a look back at 2014, my first year of blogging. If you wanna know what you can expect from the following 12 months, you will also get a glimpse of that.

One year of blogging, one year of confusion

On January 16, this blog will turn one *congrats* When I started, I was determined to post something at least once a week, but wasn’t quite sure whether I would really be able to do that. Judging from the stats, I think I kind of succeeded. In 2014, I posted a total of 79 posts, i.e. 1.5 posts per week. Wow. Although there was of course NaPoWriMo (which I might participate in again this year), so let’s make that a “more or less one post per week”.

According to my WordPress stats, the three posts that got read the most were:

  1. My review of Downton Abbey season 4
  2. My haiku “Smitten”
  3. My haiku “Victorian Praise”

What does that mean? Actually, I have no idea. I don’t seem to have readers who come here regularly for one specific kind of content (or do you? Please tell me!). Rather, people come here because they’re looking for something or because I mentioned my blog in a comment on some other page.

Well, at least that’s my impression, but the thing is: I’m really not sure I can trust the WordPress stats. For example, I get likes on my posts, but the stats still say that nobody visited that day. Other times it says that I had visitors, but the didn’t come via any referrer, i.e. they must have typed in the address of my blog. That would be flattering, but I still don’t think that’s the case.

I tried to circumvent that problem by using the Google Webmaster Tools, but they are even more confusing. For one, they say my blog got even less visitors than indicated by the WordPress stats. Additionally, the stats on search terms and the stats on pages returned by Google seem to differ – or maybe I still don’t understand what each of them is supposed to tell me.

I guess the bottom line is this: after (nearly) one year of blogging, I’m still operating on a trial-and-error basis. Which is fine by me, actually. After all, I’m mostly still blogging for the fun of it.

What’s to come in 2015

Good question! Right now it looks like it’s gonna be more of what I’ve already done over the last year. Stuff I’m planning to post:

  • A review of Downton Abbey season 5 – coming later this month
  • A review of Orphan Black season 2 – also later this month
  • More about Fitch and the not-so-much-talking dead – hopefully later this month, and maybe even more over the course of the year
  • NaPoWriMo – if it takes place and if I have the time to participate
  • WordPlay #13 to #17, as well as #2.1 and #2.2, even more depending on Nika’s schedule – over the course of the year
  • Fan fiction – possibly, I might post another Thomas piece

So these are my more-or-less-thought-through plans at the moment, but changes are always possible. If you have a request, comment ahead! Here’s to another year full of blogging!

Leave a Reply

