NaPoWriMo Day 1 “Don’t Trust”

I admit that I had no idea there was such a thing as National Poem Writing Month. The idea is to write a poem every day and I thought why not participate. Okay, I seriously doubt that I will manage to publish a poem every day, but I will try to write at least one haiku per week (you know, Japanese poetry, 5-7-5 syllables).

Today’s prompt was generated by the Bibliomancy Oracle, and it’s a line from Stacia M. Feegal’s “Post-Apocalyptic”: “We must remember// remembering is always futuristic.” (okay, it’s scary how much the Oracle knows what I like…). Here’s what I came up with:

Don’t Trust

Don’t trust the image

Your mind generates from scratch.

It hasn’t happened yet.

 

(For more haiku, also check out the haiku thread on the Geek & Sundry forums)

Leave a Reply

